still alive..

I was attending some kind of optional training program at KFS hospital, I had been there for some sort of clinical attachment and observation. It was a great experience.

Most of the doctors are outsiders, and they’re really nice and kind.

And there was this Doctor who’s I can say obsessed in medicine, I used to see him everyday in the library reading all kind of medical books, and what actually happened to me with that person was that once he got to know I’m a student, he assumed the normal thing that I should know all the basic information, since I just finished the 3rd year and should be so fresh with all the basic stuff, and he started asking me questions I don’t even think I went through all what he asked in my basic years, I got a record million times nervous. but what really made me happy, that I got to revise the important basic things, and got clinically attached.

It was a very great 6 week summer training, was full of learning. And of course it was full of embarrassments.  😀

I might start attending another summer training in the teaching hospital next Saturday; I talked to the doctor and all that stuff. And I’m so looking forward to it.

I’ve already learned what I wanted to learn. But I want to practice more, and the only way to do that is to go to the teaching hospital. So my plans for the rest of the vacation are to get very prepared for the 4th year. And My only problem is that I can’t be home all day doing nothing! And my parents don’t want me to go to another hospital , for them I have worked enough and it’s time to get some reward and have rest, they’re somehow right, my body needs rest, but in fact they can’t decide. I’m the one who’s going to work and suffer if they really think being me in the hospital again is some kind of suffering. They said okay when I asked them about it. But I know that they’re deep down not comfortable with it, and even deep down I’m not comfortable in letting them down.

And I don’t know if I want to do what I want and make them sad, or want to make them happy and save my work time for later.

I won’t know the way they think after all. Unless I become one myself.

That’s it for today. I’m so sick and home alone, I have been in my bed all day so I thought writing down my thoughts would help!

Good night

And Ramadan Mubarak.


One response to “still alive..

  • Mohammed

    Nice writing Hanan,

    I agree with you in most of what you said. My attention was focused on the parents issue. It is really difficult as you said. But most of the cases I have been in the same situation as yours, I found that my parents are always right. Many times I do things that I hate just to not let my parents down.

    You are in medicine school and that is the highest place any student can get. So, your parents think of you as a genius and that put a lot of pressure on you to study hard because once (god forbidden) you get low grade, your parents will be disappointed and believe me you don’t want to see them somehow sad because of you. Your life is what you decide to be but at the same level we cannot live without other people directing and correcting us. Take the good criticism and leave silly ones behind your back.

    Good luck and keep your excitement up.

    Regards,

Leave a comment